Catlin CEO Wins Insurance Hall of Fame Award

December 18, 2014 by Charles E. Boyle
Stephen Catlin
Stephen Catlin

Stephen Catlin, Chief Executive of Catlin Group Limited, will be the 2015 Insurance Hall of Fame Award recipient, the International Insurance Society (‘IIS’) has announced.

The Insurance Hall of Fame Award pays tribute to persons who have made a broad, encompassing and lasting contribution to the insurance industry and who are recognized by their peers as successful leaders, innovators and visionaries. Stephen Catlin was one of four nominees for the 2015 Award selected by the IIS Honors Committee. These nominations were then voted on by IIS members.

Bernhard Fink, the Chair of the IIS Honors Committee, said:

“Stephen embodies the Insurance Hall of Fame criteria: a strong leader with an extraordinary business vision and creativity. In a relatively short period of time, the small company he founded has grown into the biggest syndicate at Lloyd’s with operations on four continents – a truly remarkable achievement.”

Stephen Catlin is the founder and the sole chief executive of Catlin Group Limited, a Bermuda-based insurer/reinsurer that currently operates more than 50 offices in 25 countries worldwide. Over the past 30 years, the Catlin Group has grown from a small managing agency at Lloyd’s of London with two employees to a multinational insurance holding company with nearly 2,500 employees and 2013 gross premiums written of more than US$5.3 billion.

Stephen Catlin said:

“I am truly honoured to have been selected as the 2015 Laureate of the Insurance Hall of Fame. This award must be shared by a large group of people – my family, current and former Catlin employees, and others within the insurance industry – who have been instrumental in my career and the growth and success of the Catlin Group. I would like to thank them, along with the members of the International Insurance Society, for this amazing honour.”

Stephen Catlin will be formally inducted into the Insurance Hall of Fame on 15 June 2015 in conjunction with the 51st Annual IIS Seminar in New York.

The Insurance Hall of Fame, administered by the IIS, was created in 1957 and today boasts more than 100 Laureates from around the globe. Each year, a slate of candidates, deemed to fulfil the Hall of Fame Awards criteria, is selected by the IIS Honors Committee. This slate is then voted on by the IIS membership through a secret ballot conducted by the independent auditing firm Deloitte & Touche LLP.